My family: the reason why I will never dream of quitting

My Crazy, Daily Routine

If you’re a single dad or a family guy like me, is this your usual crazy hours at work?

Here’s a sample of my daily, crazy hours:

-I go to work at night from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m.

-Go home by about 7:30am

-Write my blogs/do online teaching from 8am to 10am.

-If I’m lucky and have time, I would prep my 3 year-old daughter and fetch her to school by 10:15am for her 10:30am nursery school class; otherwise, my wife does it for me. (Her school’s just near by and only takes 15 min. to drive).

-I (or me and my wife) would go back home by 10:30am open my computer and check my emails again.

-I go to sleep from 12pm to 6pm.

-From 6pm to 7:00pm, my wife would have cooked supper for us while I prep myself for work.

-From 7:00 to 7:30pm, we would have finished supper.

-From 7:30pm to 7:45pm, if I still have time I would check on my daughter’s assignments or go tag team with my wife as she and I go thru my daughter’s assignments.

-From 7:45 to 7:50pm, I’m off to work.

Now this is the same old routine I do on a normal working day and only a father would understand and tolerate. And you just can’t stop and blow your top and ask yourself with agreed to do this in the first place.

BACK AT HOME

Now because of my busy daily line of work, I sometimes would lack time for my family which is something I don’t allow in my book.

One day stormy night, my daughter woke me up as she usually does so as to prep me up for work. My daughter is usually very frightful of thunder and lightning. So she asked me if I could carry her for comfort. This I did for a while. I had to hug her tight to keep her warm and cause I kinda felt wanting to cause I really missed it so much.

Then she asked to to put her down and that we go sit by the sofa. She whispered into my ear and said: “Thank you daddy for carrying me”. I looked at her and said: “You’re very welcome” as I was so touched by what she said. I felt like a little chip fell off my heart. I felt like the happiest dad at the time.

At the same time, my wife invited us for dinner and shared the table as family. I told my wife about what my daughter just and she kind of giggled and smiled at her as if to say that she too felt pride.

GOING TO WORK

As I was preparing myself to go out of the door and head off to work, I called both my wife and daughter and for a kiss on the lips from both of them. I felt as light as a feather that day and realized why I do what I do on a crazy, daily basis.

REALIZATION

As as was walking a few steps towards the office, I was remembering my family and realized that they are my greatest motivator and why I would never dream of quitting to work hard. That no matter what happens, I know I have them to love me and I have them to love. This is why I thank God for blessing me with a great, loving family.

So about about you dear reader, what keeps you on your toes? C’mon, I’d love to read about them.

Leave a Reply

